CMS Thesis Award for Thorben Quast


This year, the CMS Thesis Award once again goes to a scientist from the Physics Institute III A, Dr Thorben Quast. After Dr Marcel Rieger from our institute was awarded the prize for outstanding dissertations last year by the CMS Collaboration based at CERN, this year's prize will be awarded to Dr Thorben Quast for his work on “Qualification, Performance Validation and Fast Generative Modelling of Beam Test Calorimeter Prototypes for the CMS Calorimeter Endcap Upgrade“ and two other finalists. The prize is awarded after a multi-stage evaluation process of the nominated dissertations by the Thesis Award Committee, which is made up of 28 CMS scientists. The award recognises the particular contribution of the thesis to the CMS programme.